The main focus for the KAZA region is the Zambezi region of Namibia.  The total protected area amounts to 14%.
Originally named Caprivi / Caprivi strip, the region was officially renamed to Zambezi in 2013.
The Zambezi region is blessed with good rainfall throughout the year, diverse flora and fauna.

Some 450 kms long and about 100 kms wide, the Caprivi borders on Angola and Zambia in the north, on Botswana in the south, and with its eastern tip even on Zimbabwe.  But its the rivers that criss cross this strip of land that make it unique. 

The Okavango River forms the border to Angola, cutting through western Caprivi and into Botswana where it disappears in the world-famous Okavango Delta. 

The Kwando divides western and eastern Caprivi, forms part of the border to Botswana and when in flood fills the waterways of the Linyanti and Chobe. 

The Chobe is the southern border to Botswana until it joins the Zambezi at Impalila Island, the easternmost tip of Namibia. 

The legendary, mighty Zambezi from the north becomes the border to Zambia at Katima Mulilo. 

Further downstream, between Zambia and Zimbabwe, it plunges over the Victoria Falls and into spectacular gorges. 

Mamili National Park
Namibia’s equivalent of the Okavango Delta, a watery wilderness of wildlife rich islands, river channels and wetlands. 
During the dry season the islands can be reached by road but after the rains 80% of the area becomes flooded, cutting them off from the mainland.

Mudumu National Park
home to small populations of sitatunga and red lechwe while spotted neck otter, hippo and crocodile inhabit the waterways. 

Popa Falls
are more a series of rapids than a waterfall.
Game fishing for tiger and bream is good in this area.